Make a GUI

If you are new to development, plan on spending some time here before visiting the other forums.

Moderator:Moderators

Barrux
Make a GUI

Post by Barrux » Wed Nov 09, 2011 3:37 pm

Sorry for my bad english but it is not my language. First of all, great tutorial! :wink: I studied the tutorial with successfully. Now (I could not understand) I wanted create a simple interface with icons and mouse pointer, or load a image. I was wondering if you can tell me how to do it or if you can give me some links to show me how to do.
Thank you for any replies.

Benjamin

Re: Make a GUI

Post by Benjamin » Thu Nov 10, 2011 12:36 am

That kind of GUI is called a desktop environment. Before OS developers do anything nifty, we usually spend a lot of time working on the core of the operating system (mostly the kernel). Also, you'll need to settle a way for controlling the screen display, whether by oldschool VGA, graphics card utilization or whatever method is the most practical for your purposes and ability.

When you're ready, you can try following something like this tutorial:
http://www.brokenthorn.com/Resources/OSDevVga.html

Unless you're stubborn and the "elite-breed", you'll remain simple and cope with the limitations of old video modes until you gain the ability to control (atleast) your own graphics card model. The amount of complications involved with supporting more hardware (i.e the variety of graphics cards etc.) will get ugly.

Some day, you might be able to (after some challenge) create a low-color-depth desktop environment with support for little icons and stuff. The icons can be created with an image program which supports the kind of color depth you want. You can study these simple image formats (such as BMP, ICO, GIF etc.) and maybe implement them directly into your operating system, or you can make a program which converts them into a custom image format of your own design.
When life gives you lemmings, keep them safe.

linuxfreak